Features Markets Alerts Brokers Pricing Live Demo Blog About Sign In Start Free →
Managing investments through an online brokerage app
PORTFOLIOTRACKR
Broker Integration

Robinhood Adds Perps, Weekend Stock Trading and AI Agents

By James Whitfield · September 30, 2026 · 8 min read

Robinhood announced a major expansion for US users on 2026-09-30, adding crypto perpetual futures, 24-hour weekend trading of US stocks, and AI agents for automated trading. Details on rollout timing, eligibility and fees are still thin. Here is what the headlines actually support, what remains unknown, and what a Robinhood holder can check about their own exposure right now.

What did Robinhood announce on September 30, 2026?

Robinhood announced three separate expansions aimed at active traders, reported early on September 30, 2026 and corroborated by three independent newsrooms (The Block, Investing.com and CoinDesk). The three pieces are crypto perpetual futures (perps), 24-hour weekend trading of US stocks, and AI agents for automated trading.

The reporting is hours old at the time of writing. What the headlines confirm is the direction: Robinhood is widening access and adding automation to compete for active retail traders. What they do not yet confirm are the specifics.

Where a detail is not in the source reporting, treat it as unknown. Invented specifics on a breaking story are worse than saying so plainly.

What are crypto perpetual futures, and why does this matter?

A perpetual future (perp) is a derivatives contract that tracks an underlying asset's price with no expiry date, typically traded with leverage and settled through periodic funding payments between long and short holders. Perps are common on offshore crypto venues but have been tightly restricted for US retail users.

Robinhood offering perps to US users is notable because it brings a leveraged, funding-based product into a mainstream retail app. The mechanics that matter to any holder:

The specific leverage caps and supported contracts Robinhood will offer are not disclosed in the current reporting. If you already track spot crypto alongside equities, our guide on tracking stocks and crypto together in one app covers how a leveraged position is a different exposure from the same spot coin.

What does 24-hour weekend stock trading actually change?

Weekend trading means US stock orders can be placed on Saturday and Sunday, outside the traditional Monday-to-Friday session. Robinhood is extending to a 24-hour weekend window, and Investing.com framed this as part of a broader industry move toward round-the-clock access.

Why weekend prints can differ from Monday's open

Weekend and overnight sessions typically run on thinner liquidity than the regular NYSE and Nasdaq session. That has practical consequences:

It is not clear from the headlines which US stocks are eligible for the weekend window or whether settlement timing changes. US equities have settled T+1 since May 2024, and nothing in the reporting says that changes for weekend fills.

What are Robinhood's AI agents, and what is still unknown?

Robinhood's AI agents are described in the reporting as tools for automated trading, meaning software that can act on a user's behalf. Beyond that framing, the headlines do not specify how the agents decide, what they cost, what limits apply, or whether they need explicit approval before each order.

Because this is the least-detailed of the three announcements, the honest position is that we do not yet know the guardrails. Questions worth holding until Robinhood publishes details:

Automated order flow also complicates record-keeping. If an agent trades while you sleep, your cost basis and realized gains can shift without a manual entry, which matters at tax time and for any external tracker you rely on.

What should a Robinhood holder check right now?

Right now, the useful action is to check your own exposure and records, not to react to the announcement itself. Checking is not the same as deciding. Here is a practical review for any Robinhood user:

  1. Confirm what you actually hold: list your Robinhood positions and note which are spot crypto, which are equities, and whether any are leveraged.
  2. Check your concentration: see how much of your total portfolio sits in a single name or in crypto overall.
  3. Review whether you have alerts on the levels you care about: a 24-hour weekend market means a price you watch can be reached on a Saturday.
  4. Make sure your records capture every fill: if you enable AI agents later, automated trades still need to show up in your cost-basis history.

How PortfolioTrackr fits into this

PortfolioTrackr lets you see Robinhood positions next to everything else you own, so a weekend move in one stock is visible against your whole book rather than in isolation. Because connecting a broker is optional, you can add Robinhood holdings by manual entry, CSV, text, voice or a broker screenshot, or sync automatically. Our walkthrough on running one dashboard for Alpaca, IBKR, Schwab and Robinhood shows how multi-broker holders keep a single view.

On price alerts: PortfolioTrackr checks every position and every watchlist level once a minute, around the clock, so you hear within a minute of your level being hit, including on the weekend. Watchlist alerts are on every plan. The alert reports status against your own targets (still below target, Target 1 reached, stop-loss level reached); it does not tell you what to do.

How does this compare across the three changes?

The three announcements differ in how much detail Robinhood has released and how directly they touch an ordinary holder. This table summarizes only what the September 30 headlines support.

FeatureWhat's confirmedWhat's unknown
Crypto perpsComing to US users; leveraged, no-expiry contractsLeverage caps, tokens, launch date, fees
Weekend stock trading24-hour weekend access to US stocksEligible tickers, routing venue, overnight pricing
AI agentsTools for automated tradingOrder approval, limits, cost, guardrails

If you are weighing whether a broker app alone gives you a full picture across these new products, our portfolio tracker vs spreadsheet comparison covers why manual tracking struggles once trading runs around the clock.

What to watch next

Watch for Robinhood's own product documentation and terms, which should fill in the specifics the headlines leave open. Concretely:

The bottom line

Robinhood announced perps, 24-hour weekend stock trading and AI agents for US users on September 30, 2026, confirmed by three newsrooms. The direction is wider access and more automation, but the leverage limits, eligible tickers and agent guardrails are not yet public. For now, the grounded step is to check your own exposure, confirm your records capture every fill, and make sure alerts cover the levels you care about, including on weekends.

Connect your broker and stop typing trades

42 brokers through the SnapTrade bridge on paid Pro and Lifetime plans. Alpaca, Bybit and Interactive Brokers also connect directly on every plan. Positions and cost basis sync automatically, across as many accounts as you hold.

Connect Your Broker
Download on the App Store Get it on Google Play
See the live demo first →

Frequently asked questions

When did Robinhood announce perps and weekend stock trading?

Robinhood's announcement of crypto perpetual futures, 24-hour weekend US stock trading, and AI agents was reported early on September 30, 2026, and corroborated by three independent newsrooms. Exact launch dates, eligibility rules and fees were not specified in the initial reporting.

What is a crypto perpetual future in simple terms?

A crypto perpetual future is a derivatives contract that tracks an asset's price with no expiry date, usually traded with leverage and settled through periodic funding payments between longs and shorts. Leverage amplifies both gains and losses, and positions can be liquidated automatically if margin runs out.

Does weekend stock trading use the same prices as weekdays?

Not necessarily. Weekend and overnight sessions typically run on thinner liquidity, so spreads can be wider and prices may route through an alternative trading system rather than the primary exchange. A weekend price can differ from Friday's official close and may gap when the full market reopens Monday.

Can I track my Robinhood positions in PortfolioTrackr?

Yes. PortfolioTrackr shows Robinhood holdings alongside your other accounts, and connecting a broker is optional. You can add positions by manual entry, CSV, text, voice or broker screenshot, or sync automatically. Price alerts check every position once a minute, around the clock, so you hear within a minute of a level being reached.

What details about Robinhood AI agents are still unknown?

The initial reporting confirms AI agents for automated trading but does not specify how they place orders, whether trades need your confirmation, what position sizes or leverage they can access, or what they cost. Watch Robinhood's official product documentation and terms for these guardrails before enabling any automation.

James Whitfield
James Whitfield covers broker connections, data security and the mechanics of portfolio tracking at PortfolioTrackr: getting your positions in accurately and keeping them safe.
All articles by James →
Follow our market news on Google
Add PortfolioTrackr as a preferred source and Google will show you more of our articles in Top Stories.
Add as a preferred source on Google →